PDA

View Full Version : powder measure for pistols

porthos
01-16-2021, 12:50 PM
i'm new to loading for pistols. my current measure is a Redding. anything better for very small charges (accurate) of pistol powders??

porthos
01-16-2021, 12:53 PM
let me ad that i also have a lyman 55 and a belding and mull. never used them, just like vintage stuff.

Green Frog
01-16-2021, 01:13 PM
The B&M will do for all but the smallest charge volumes, and the Lyman 55, using only the smallest slide is also good for small pistol charges. I have used both successfully along with others... I collect powder measures, it seems. I’ve gotten lazy though and often use one of the dedicated pistol measures with fixed charge rotors. I have them by RCBS (Little Dandy) and discontinued models from Lyman (Accu-Measure) and Pacific (Pacific Pistol Measure) that I like a lot. If you have the proper rotor for your desired charge, you just put it in, fill the reservoir, and start loading... no adjusting required. :mrgreen:

Froggie

Cosmic_Charlie
01-16-2021, 01:23 PM
I have been having good luck with Lee's Autodisk Pro. I use it on my turret press. Not sure if you can operate manually though. It works very well with small charges.

rintinglen
01-16-2021, 01:42 PM
I use my old Lyman 55's for very small charges. For charges less than 2.0 grains, I weigh each charge. I have an old Ohaus Duo measure for magnum pistol charges, and an RCBS for rifle cartridges. The RCBS has two different powder chambers one large and one small, but I have never used the small one.