PDA

View Full Version : Need help, used mold

cheese1566
12-19-2008, 09:54 AM
Hello all, I need help!
I just started getting equipment to start casting. I have no experience in casting or molds for that matter;except for forums and casting books at the library.
I bought a used mold (not EvilBay) and have questions...
I have a Lyman 4 cavity 358311CM mold that came with a nutcracker style handle. I only paid $25 for it, so I only have a little invested if it's junk.
The mold looks to have been highly used and is not in the greatest shape, but verly little rust in only one cavity. The holes for the alignment pins are slightly oval and worn so it has a little slop. The handle was very loose and sloppy at the pivot joint.

The mold top is not flat!. I thought the sprue plate was warped or bent, but it is flat. The top of the mold looks to have a slant and curve from the top left corner to the lower right corner. It is definite when you look at the sides too. It looks like the sides and bottom are still square. When measuring the internals of the cavities, it shows variances in bullet lengths. The sprue screw area is flat, but there is between a 1/32-1/16" gap ranging from the front to the rear when the sprue plate is closed.

Is this normal? I am assuming somebody misused a file...

Is it possible to push\tap the alignment pins out a little futher and deburr the holes to help alignment?

I was thinking of having the friendly machine shop mill the top of the mold when the sloppy pins are taken care of. It is not a gas check design, and I will lose some weight from loss of part of the base.

Thanks

MT Gianni
12-19-2008, 10:59 AM