PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Question: Lead Management

Guy La Pourqe
01-11-2021, 03:46 PM
Good afternoon Gents.

I am new to casting and in the past, all my lead has come to me in small, bite sized ingots that go right into my lead pot as slick as can be. Unfortunately my supplies ran out and I am seeing a lot of great reasonably priced lead around but in very odd shapes. A year or two I tried to cut soft lead on the drop saw but it bunged up the teeth on the saw. How do you guys cut up big chunks into smaller ones?

Sorry if this is a dumb question...

Stewbaby
01-11-2021, 03:50 PM
Sawzall or recip saw, remelt in a bigger pot and repour into small ingots (see Redneck molds on this forum) or if they’ll partially fit, hold one end in the pot with pliers till portion you need melts off. Easy to weigh a bar and mark off rough lbs, partial or such with a marker (like divide a 2lb ingot into 1/2 lb increments by marking it into 4 equal sections)

If they fit, here is how to quickly partition them equally if they are somewhat uniform in cross-section:

-draw line off end
-pivot ruler so ‘10’ or other friendly division hits the end line
-transfer divisions to paper (use a straight edge if desired)
-mark on ingot

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210111/aadc357afda3cff5aa53934be8b42028.jpg

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210111/f92f8122878ac371e2264286c263dbea.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210111/62bad4b5a88afd29e694f3d6399124d6.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210111/84588e94c200402188bcef8c82f8472d.jpg

Winger Ed.
01-11-2021, 04:00 PM
^^ this^^

You can also use a wood/brush cutting blade in a 'sawz-all' type reciprocating saw.
Just don't go so hard & fast the blade heats up and melts the Lead or it will clog too.

I've done that, and sometimes I have carved off chunks that would fit in the old Pro-Melt with a torch.
A hardware store propane torch will work, but a Plumber's 'B' tank & turbo torch is better.