PDA

View Full Version : Scratched mold

TonyR
01-07-2021, 05:35 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210107/f97664f5940dc157fbb5351326a3a8c6.jpg

I’m just getting into casting and my Lee .223 mold just got delivered today. I bought it off an individual on EBay used. When I got it, I noticed one of the molds was scratched up on one side. I didn’t think it would hurt anything and started casting.

The above picture is the results. The bullet on the left is from the unscratched mold and the one on the right is from the scratched mold. My question is, is there anyway to remedy the mold so it casts a better quality bullet? Also, will I be able to load these bullets or should they be melted back down?

PS the photos on the eBay listing did not have these scratches showing and it was bought in “used”

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Evoken
01-07-2021, 06:05 PM
Someone more versed in this will chime in shortly I'm certain. However it looks to me that the boolit on the right was cast from a cavity that was way to cold.
I would remelt it if it was me.
Ken

Bashby
01-07-2021, 06:15 PM
Can you get some pictures of the scratched mold?

TonyR
01-07-2021, 06:22 PM
Can you get some pictures of the scratched mold?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210107/7f04ea93aa7ac31bdc9befbd0b22b656.jpg

TonyR
01-07-2021, 06:27 PM
Plan on powder coating, would that fill the divots enough to make the bullet useable ?

ShooterAZ
01-07-2021, 06:28 PM
Yikes, that mold has some issues. I'd get back in contact with the seller. If that is the Lee C309-150F, Midway has a few of them left as I'm typing this.

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/101021394?pid=720790

TonyR
01-07-2021, 06:41 PM
Yikes, that mold has some issues. I'd get back in contact with the seller. If that is the Lee C309-150F, Midway has a few of them left as I'm typing this.

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/101021394?pid=720790

It’s a 225-55

garandsrus
01-07-2021, 06:51 PM