PDA

View Full Version : What sizing dies do you use?

blasternank
12-28-2020, 09:10 PM
I'm new to casting. I've been acquiring items over time and am getting ready to jump in. What sizing dies do y'all use? I've only seen Lee sizing dies, what are your thoughts about those? What other ones are out there? Are any available now?

Thanks.

gpidaho
12-28-2020, 09:16 PM
blasternank: I like the Lee push through sizers but mostly use the Noe bushings in the adapter for the Lee APP. I have a Saeco lube sizer that is a very good tool but it just sits on the shelf since I powder coat most all my cast bullets these days. Gp

Old School Big Bore
12-28-2020, 09:18 PM
I use Lyman (or the RCBS clones) H&I dies and top punches for conventional lube-in-the-grooves sizing in a Lyman #450 lubrisizer, and Lee push-through dies in a compound-linkage "O" press for no-lube, size-only use on powdercoated or plated bullets.
Ed <><

Conditor22
12-28-2020, 09:27 PM
I started with the Lee push-through sizer dies But found that in the long run, NOE is cheaper, had more sizes available, had now sizing attachments, and fit in a smaller storage case.

smithnframe
12-28-2020, 09:47 PM
I use Lyman, RCBS and Saeco!

onelight
12-28-2020, 09:49 PM
Lyman and Lee but will try the NOE sizers after hearing all the good reports on the forum and the availability of more size options.

GhostHawk
12-28-2020, 09:54 PM
IF you have a Lyman #450 lubrisizer or similar machine you'll use dies that fit it.

For the rest of us there are Lee push through dies, which do work. My experience with them shows they may tend to size a hair below listed diameter. But that is adjustable with time and the right materials.

I also don't size as often as I used to.

For example a year back I cast and loaded some 250 .430 .44 mag bullets 200 grain. Of those any that would not fit into a lightly flared neck got set aside. I eventually sized perhaps 50 out of the 250. Rest were loaded as cast.

All depends on what you want to do.