PDA

View Full Version : Homemade primer compounds

M-Tecs
12-26-2020, 11:49 PM
Good link for the folks that want to give this a try

http://aardvarkreloading.com/resources/homemadeprimercourse.pdf

Scrounge
12-27-2020, 01:54 AM
Glad there's a new thread on it. I've ordered the primer compound kit from 22lrreloader, and trying to figure out where I can get the various ingredients for the total DIY stuff. Thanks! Finished a butterscotch beer (non-alcoholic) and was headed for the trash can when I realized it was clear glass, and just about perfect for a trial run for powdered glass.

MisterStyx
12-27-2020, 10:07 AM
I've been eyeing that pdf for a few months now. I need to finish my black powder project first.

I'm very interested in the bismuth trioxide version at the end.

missionary5155
12-27-2020, 11:15 AM
Good morning
Years back the NRA sold a book about large scale Ammunition Making. Full of details about all processes from Drawing brass to final ammo assembly.

In the detailed chapter about primers was a short story of a many year experienced worker who was in charge of the primer department. There was a specially prepared sidewalk he used daily to carry a fresh batch of primer compound from the mixing room to the combining room.
As always the special heavy thick walled container was filled and the department head began his walk Along the way there was a massive explosion creating a deep hole through the sidewalk. No recognizable piece of the man or his clothing was ever located..

MisterStyx
12-27-2020, 11:30 AM
https://archive.org/details/AmmunitionMakingNRAByG.Frost1990

This book is what you're talking about. Good book for folks wanting more information on making ammunition.

If you want explosion horror stories there's also this thread on a great forum. It's called "Life after detonation"

http://www.sciencemadness.org/talk/viewthread.php?tid=22554

Mal Paso
12-27-2020, 08:52 PM
On a related note: