PDA

View Full Version : New Shiloh Sharps question

Harleysboss
12-06-2020, 02:08 PM
I've recently received my new Shiloh Business Rifle, 45-70. The rifle is set up with the blade front sight and full buckhorn rear sight. I shot it for the first time on Friday. The shooting session was mostly for function test and getting familiar with the rifle. The rifle functioned flawlessly..of course. I found that the bullet impacts were in a nice circle group...approximately 10 inches high. I shot off the bench, resting the mid barrel over my heavy bag. I had the front sight lined up with the small notch in the bottom of the buckhorn. The load was starline brass, 61 grains by weight of Swiss FFG, 1 .060 card wad compressed just enough to seat my 505 grain Accurate Mold bullet. My question is...are the barrel sights set up for 200 yard shooting right off the bat? 10 inches seems pretty high at 100 yards. New Sharps owner here so I'm just starting to learn.

Don McDowell
12-06-2020, 02:22 PM
With the sight down it should be close to point of aim at 100. Might be the velocity of your load causing the high impact, jump it up to 65 grains or so and see if the impact comes down.

Lead pot
12-06-2020, 06:39 PM
The I have 6 Shiloh's and all when I took the first shot with barrel sights the 100 yard hits where always low. They leave the front blade high so they can be filed down for what ever range you want. I usually use a 130 yard rear sight down for my barrel sight zero, my preference for hunting and standing the ladder up that will give me a 210 yard zero using the notch under the slide with my .44-77. I always know where to hold the rifle between close and at 250 yards then I have the other zero's without moving the slide up or down. You have to spent time at the range to learn the barrel sight settings and being able to remember where to set it.