PDA

View Full Version : Vintage Herters

atr
11-27-2020, 06:53 PM
dies, press, mold and brass cases and even the .357 Revolver sold by Herters and made by Sig in Germany
thanks for looking
atr272207

John Wayne
11-27-2020, 07:01 PM
That's a cool group!

oley55
11-27-2020, 08:07 PM
Great pics! Wow, that photo really shows how strong and beefy that press is.

Pressman
11-27-2020, 09:20 PM
Yes, the Model 3 is a big chunk of cast iron. What caught my attention is the revolver. They were nice guns and well made. Good as a Ruger. I had a 401 that I had to sell 20 years ago, still miss it. I found one last year when we still had gunshows for a thousand dollars. I had to pass on that one. I still have a lot of brass and reload ammo for the 401. Just in case...

Ken

oley55
11-28-2020, 09:20 AM
Is the block of wood used to keep the handle up and generally out of the way?

atr
11-28-2020, 11:00 AM
Yes the block of wood keeps the handle up. I have been using that press since the mid 1960's and it has never failed me!
The cost of the revolver was $41.00 new when first sold through Herters.

thxmrgarand
11-28-2020, 03:27 PM
In "How to get out of the Rat Race and Live on $10 a Month" the authors, George Leonard Herter and Berthe E. Herter, say, ".401 Herter Powermag Now Becoming Most Popular Handgun in Alaska. The .44 magnum was popular for a time in Alaska but its popularity rapidly faded and today in 1968 they are rarely carried. The .44 magnum proved to be a poor inaccurate, difficult shooting gun. It is much easier to kill bears and big game with a .401 Herter Powermag as accurate shots into vital areas of animals are easier to make then (sic) with a .44 magnum."

The .401 section goes on for another two pages, mostly photos. The book is quaint nonsense, 656 pages worth, mixed with common sense that no one need read in a book. I found this book at a local used book store, but I also have the two Herters guide books, given to me by my parents when I was perhaps 11 years old.