PDA

View Full Version : 3D printed a dial indicator holder

guy_with_boolits
11-11-2020, 01:18 PM
I'm sure this has been done before, but I made one from scratch. I wanted a way to precisely measure case lengths since I am new to rifle loading and am doing quite a few operations on each (random range pickups, decapping/full length sizing,primer pocket swaging which expands the case mouth, then quick trimming with a drill, followed by a final run through the full sizer to remove burrs). I want a final QC on each case to ensure the case lengths are consistent. When I get better at reloading I will probably not need this anymore but for the moment I want to see every case length.

Some other possible uses for a press mounted dial indicator would be a powder cop or ???

Anyways it was easy to print, it mounts to the quick trim die. The mouth pops up through that die and the dial indicator plunger tip has a washer on it that makes it stop on the case mouth.

It seems like to make the measurement accurate (and detect changes of a few thousandths), you need a hard stop right next to the measurement, otherwise you can too easily change the measurement by just pushing harder on the lever. So I mounted a die next to it that bottoms out on the plate.

https://i.postimg.cc/4NZzZLf7/case-measurement.jpg
https://i.postimg.cc/6pbRrBdn/dial-ind-1.jpg
https://i.postimg.cc/sDc52Yxn/dial-ind-2.jpg
https://i.postimg.cc/rwwxRDtq/dial-ind-3.jpg

smithnframe
11-11-2020, 01:52 PM
I measure my cases with a vernier caliper!

guy_with_boolits
11-11-2020, 01:58 PM
I measure my cases with a vernier caliper!

dont you get tired??? I have to process 1000 cases today

Rcmaveric
11-11-2020, 05:42 PM
You know what.... that will be my next thing I design. A 3d printed max case gage. Like the Lyman metal one the looks like stairs.

Wish we could 3D print cartridge head space gauges. 50 to 90 bucks for one may not seem bad but tack on the fact I reload for 6 different calibers and it adds up quick.