PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with target shooting. Hitting low and left.

VariableRecall
11-09-2020, 02:19 PM
I know it's quite embarrassing to post not so great groups, but I've got to improve somehow.

On both occasions that I've went to the range, I've been shooting about 2 inches lower and to the left from the center of my bullseyes at around 15 yards, putting most of my hits on paper at about 7 O'clock from the bullseye. Keep in mind that if I attempt to deviate from my natural point of aim (which hits low and left) I can't reliably predict where these rounds will go.

Here's a photo with my approximate 6 round group. Not so great, but it's my first time trying out .45 Auto. The shot away from my group was where I deliberately put my aim away from the bullseye to try and hit closer to it. Obviously, that wasn't a smart move.
The target's brand is Thomson and the grid is graduated to 1 inch.

This is me using GalvinGround's RIA 1911, shooting right handed with my left supporting the firearm, and using my right eye to line up the sights.

I have a suspicion that the solution to this problem may be that I'm left eye dominant and don't know it. I am shooting about 2 inches from where I'd expect them to go (about the width between someone's eyes) but that's just a theory. I see overall more clearly with my right eye than my left.

The range technician suggested that I may not be supporting the firearm enough with my left hand. Would shooting it one handed help?

Just throwing some ideas into the wind on how to fix this.

Thumbcocker
11-09-2020, 02:44 PM
It often takes several different tests to find a load that shoots to the sights on a fixed sighted gun. The fact that you are getting recognizable groups shows that you are getting a handle on the basics.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

VariableRecall
11-09-2020, 02:54 PM