PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Seasoning

GregLaROCHE
11-09-2020, 07:03 AM
I admit I am relatively new to muzzle loading, but I have never heard about barrel seasoning. What’s the real story on it? Can you really let a BP gun go for a week without cleaning it?

https://youtu.be/xTTOkUjmijs

AntiqueSledMan
11-09-2020, 07:53 AM
Hello Greg,

I use TC Bore Butter.
As for leaving your BP Gun without cleaning, my answer is NO!
I haven't used Real Black Powder for years.
Nobody around home carries it, so we've been using Triple Seven.
Most of my rifles are hooked breech, so I tear down for cleaning.
After a shooting session, I still use Dreft Baby Soap for cleaning, in Hot Water.
After scrubbing, I flush with clear hot water & fresh patch,
then I place a small funnel in the muzzle and run fresh hot water through it.
I like the barrel hot then run a single dry patch through and place the barrel muzzle down and allow it to dry.
After it's been sitting for half an hour I run a couple patches of Bore butter through it.
I even take the used patch and smear a coat over the external parts.
A lot of people say to use cool water, but when you heat up the barrel it evaporates faster.

That's how I do it, AntiqueSledMan.

indian joe
11-09-2020, 08:08 AM
I admit I am relatively new to muzzle loading, but I have never heard about barrel seasoning. What’s the real story on it? Can you really let a BP gun go for a week without cleaning it?

He says in the video dont leave your guns (like I do) clean them straight after you shoot - the best bit of advice in the video.

I have a different take on seasoning.