PDA

View Full Version : Mold dia for Powder coated bullets

XTR
11-05-2020, 03:55 PM
It's probably been asked more than once but I'm failing to find it (and I did search)

I've been casting for my BPCR for a few yrs now, but I've never bothered with my pistols, but I'm about to start for my 45s and for my 40.

Given that powder coating makes boolits bigger so they have to be sized, probably by .002 to .004 best I can tell, and my experience sizing more than about .002 is less than ideal. Would it make sense to get a mold that was .002 undersized for PC boolits?

I get that it would be a purpose built mold at that point, yea, it's not useful if you aren't coating. I understand that part. I'm not too worried about that.

Wheelguns 1961
11-05-2020, 04:02 PM
The amount that powder coating adds to your diameter is directly related to your technique. Personally, the way that I pc my bullets adds .001-.002 at the most. I try to buy my molds the same size as the bullets that I need or .001” over. Szing bullets also makes them more round. I would think that if you are having trouble sizing your pistol bullets, maybe your alloy is too hard.

FredBuddy
11-05-2020, 04:08 PM
Interesting question.

I'm no expert, but all my moulds are standard
off the shelf dimensions and I powder coat the
boolits from them. I have no problem sizing
them to the dimension for the finished product.

Powder coated boolits are slippery if they
are cured properly. If you are thinking about
jumping in, I recommend Smoke's clear powder
to start with. Also, read Banger Jim's posts
for all the tricks.

Go for it !!!

GARD72977
11-05-2020, 04:59 PM
The equipment you use to size them means a lot. The Lee App press with factory Lee or Noe sizers make it much easier.

Some of my old Lyman sizing dies scrap off the PC. The dies made for the Lee are heavily chamfered for higher production rates. This Is a big deal for PC bullets

XTR
11-05-2020, 05:14 PM