PDA

View Full Version : pure lead PP?

pbbutz
12-09-2008, 02:26 PM
Newbie PP question-- I am assuming pure soft lead is OK for casting the boolit that will be patched or does it need to be harder? I would think that soft lead would be a positive in some cases, obturation and all that.

Butz

docone31
12-09-2008, 02:30 PM
I suspect lots of patchers use pure lead only.
I use water dropped wheel weight, as it is what I have on hand and it works for me.

eka
12-09-2008, 05:01 PM
I'm pretty new at this game myself, but from what I'm gathering. You can get away with soft lead up to a point. I think when you start trying to duplicate full house jacket loads you are going to need harder alloy.

Keith

pdawg_shooter
12-09-2008, 05:37 PM
Soft or pure lead works fine for up to about 2200fps. Over that you need to harden up a bit. I can go to around 2600fps with a alloy of 12.0/12.5 BHN. Over 2600 I blend for 15.0/15.5 BHN

idahoron
12-09-2008, 09:20 PM
Pure lead works great Paper patched in my muzzleloaders. Ron

rhead
12-09-2008, 11:20 PM
Pure lead works fine paper patched in a full house 30 30 (lightly compressed load of H4350 under lee 150 flat point) and with all I want oads in my 45 70 405 grain lee HB at around 1475 fps. It sucks in my hornet at 2700 but w.d. wheel weights does fine. This data supports what pdawg shooter posted earlier.
I ususlly add 1% to 1.5% tin to get a better fillout It doesn't seem to affect performance.

pbbutz
12-10-2008, 08:21 AM
It sucks in my hornet at 2700 but w.d. wheel weights does fine

22 Hornet??!! Man, that is some small rolling! I guess you could pp 223 or 222 with good results too?

pdawg_shooter
12-10-2008, 09:08 AM
It sucks in my hornet at 2700 but w.d. wheel weights does fine

22 Hornet??!! Man, that is some small rolling! I guess you could pp 223 or 222 with good results too?

It will work fine, If you can stand to roll them. My old hands are bad enough I limit myself to 30cal and bigger.

StrawHat
12-10-2008, 10:48 AM
rhead,