PDA

View Full Version : What carbide dies work best for reloading 45 ACP?

Galvin_Ground
10-06-2020, 08:18 PM
I am brand new to reloading, let alone reloading automatic pistol ammo. I am a buddy of Variable Recall who lead me here, and he said you guys could help! I have access to a Lee hand press (don't laugh) and removable dies to attach to it. I also got access to Recall's other equipment too. What are the steps to reload 45 ACP? Any pitfalls for the process, or automatic ammo in general?

StuBach
10-06-2020, 08:24 PM
Get yourself a copy of Lyman (or other brand) loading manual and read the beginning section for lots of good info on reloading in general. Back section will have technical documentation by round including starting and max loads for each bullet and powder (most common bullets represented).

As for good dies, I’m personally partial to the Dillon ones cause I like their decapping assembly and their flipable seating stems but RCBS makes good ones too from my experience.

Single stage is the best way to learn the basics. Learn from small mistakes that are easy to catch before stepping to a progressive where mistakes are harder to catch cause your focus is on multiple operations all at once. Enjoy, I’ve been reloading 30 years (most of my life since I started when I was 6-7) and it’s amazingly satisfying to produce your own perfect load for your particular gun. Glad to welcome you to the addiction.

Der Gebirgsjager
10-06-2020, 08:32 PM
Hello Galvin Ground, welcome to the forum. Lots of good folks here, and lots of information for casters and reloaders.

Which .45 ACP carbide dies are the best? I would say all of them. I have Lee and RCBS, with no preference. I think as long as they do the job they're all equal-- except maybe in price.