PDA

View Full Version : New Caster, lube reccomendations

ryanmattes
08-31-2020, 02:01 PM
I'm new to casting and don't have any idea what makes a particular bullet lube for a particular application.

I'm currently casting 454424 to load .45 Colt for a 90's era Ruger Vaquero. This is my first foray into casting, and I've been learning the melt and the mould for a while, to the point that I finally have a batch of decent boolits to load.

I don't have a lube sizer, I'm using the Lee sizer to bring them down to .452 for the Ruger, which slugged at .451. So I guess I'm looking at pan lubing the big, square lube groove in these guys.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/LyhtKoBM6nfBkNPT9

I used a little liquid alox on a few to run them all through the sizer, and that worked just fine (no noticeable leading or skirting, just a tiny bit of the alox left in the die). So they're all sized down to .452, and ready to be lubed. But I know nothing about lube.

I live in Texas, so 100F+ is a regular occurrence, so something that won't melt off in my garage is going to be necessary. It's 101F today, and this is a cool front caused by the hurricanes in the gulf, so I need it to stand up to temps as high as 110F.

I'm fine with buying, and I'm fine with making my own, as long as I have a source for the ingredients. I just need to know more about the different properties of the various lubricants, and why I would use one over another for this particular application.

Any help is appreciated.

Ryan

Ozark mike
08-31-2020, 02:17 PM
Bees wax/vasiline is popular. I use bw/crisco or ya can use bw/olive oil theres only about 2000 recipes on here ya just need to add more bees wax to keep it stiff at those temps. Mix up a 40/60 mix set it outside and see if it melts. We got quite a few texans here who im sure will give ya their recipe

centershot
08-31-2020, 02:32 PM