PDA

View Full Version : Lee 452-200-RF in 1911

j20owner
12-04-2008, 03:34 AM
I'm just getting started casting, as in I've acquired some wheel weights and will be ordering a mold and sizer/luber here soon. I'll start with my 1911, a Dan Wesson PM3-P, 5" Gov't model.

I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with this Lee boollit/mold in a 1911. Does it work? Are you able to get a good enough taper crimp to hold boollit in place? It looks to me like it has a roll-crimp groove, but I'm wondering if it will work in a 1911 with the taper crimp. Here's a pic for reference:
http://www.factorysales.com/graphics/bullets/452200rf.gif

Any help would be appreciated. BTW, if this one will not work, I'll just go for the TL452-200-SWC from Lee.

missionary5155
12-04-2008, 04:18 AM
Good morning J20ownwer
There is no reason it should not work. All you want to be sure is that the boolit is large enough diameter for the barrel.
If you have a chunk of soft lead (sinker, round ball or cast a couple soft lead boolit) lightly oil it and tap it into your removed barrel from the breach end. Use a wood rod. Just a short distance into the rifling. Knock it back out. Measure with a micrometer or dial caliper. Now you know your minimum boolit size. .001-.002 oversize (I generally figure .002 in my 1911 .45s) will get you in the 25 yard soda can groupsdepending on the fit of your Dan.
I would dought you need straight WW boolits. Me I would be mixing my first batch of lead 50-50 with pure lead. With most of my 45ACP I use even softer mixes of 2-1ww.
In low pressure cartriges like the 45acp I am of the opinon softer is better. But get the Dan a-shooting and then you can play with mixes. BUT always load a boolit that fills the bore. Too small and will will be "mining lead in a barrel.. yours".

Rick N Bama
12-04-2008, 06:36 AM