PDA

View Full Version : Got carried away shopping

JAMESGR
08-25-2020, 01:57 PM
A couple of weeks ago I was shopping for SRP and SPR at the LGS . Got emotionally involved. Grabbed a box of REM 6 1/2 SRP. shoudda read the side of the box. I can't use these in my rifle.
So can I safely use these in 38 SPL and 357 MAG. loads??
I checked the archives and didn't find any info on this, not saying it's not there, I just didn't find any.
Thanks
JAMESGR

Conditor22
08-25-2020, 02:15 PM
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?44593-Small-rifle-primers-for-small-pistol-applications
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?181020-Small-rifle-primers-in-357-lever-actions

I'm no expert but from what I've read - IF rifle primers fit/cycle rifle primers will work, rifle primers may be a bit hotter and some worry about rifle primers sticking out futher than pistol primers

downzero
08-25-2020, 02:23 PM
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?44593-Small-rifle-primers-for-small-pistol-applications
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?181020-Small-rifle-primers-in-357-lever-actions

I'm no expert but from what I've read - IF rifle primers fit/cycle rifle primers will work, rifle primers may be a bit hotter and some worry about rifle primers sticking out futher than pistol primers

Small rifle primers are the same depth as pistol primers. It is large rifle that are taller.

I personally do not load small rifle primers in pistols, but many do without issue.

tazman
08-25-2020, 02:35 PM
It will depend on your particular gun and load. Srp and spp are interchangeable as far as size. The issue comes because the srp are about like magnum spp. They need to be struck harder to ignite.
If you are running max loads the hotter primer may put you a little over max pressure.
If you are running light or midrange loads you are good to go.

gwpercle
08-25-2020, 02:49 PM