PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Familiar With Herters Bullets 38 Caliber Jacketed SWC

tred1956
08-23-2020, 04:11 PM
Had a friend contact me this morning and ask if I knew anything about the bullets pictured below. I don't think I have ever shot a Herters bullet. Are they good bullets? He also inquired as to the value of them, if anybody has a clue. They are 38 caliber 158 grain jacketed SWC. When were these marketed? Any and all input will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Doug
https://i.postimg.cc/nrhV3h4t/Hert.jpg (https://postimg.cc/dkgK1vNW)
https://i.postimg.cc/T1sxQq2r/Hert-1.jpg (https://postimg.cc/vx5CZnVB)

2A-Jay
08-23-2020, 04:21 PM
I have shot Herters 230gr 45acp FMJ a lot, great rounds. Have never seen Herters bullets for reloading.

curiousgeorge
08-23-2020, 04:38 PM
I have no experience with those bullets as Herters brand, but I do know what they are. They really aren't a 'jacketed' bullet, but a half jacket swaged bullet. I have made several with my C-H swaging press, Hornady half jackets, and the lead cores that came with the press. The problem I had was the large amount of exposed lead above the half jacket. It wanted to leave quite a lot of itself in the barrel, even when fired at low velocity. I don't know if the Herters bullets have any sort of coating to help prevent leading, but if not you just need to expect it.

That being said, if they could be purchased at a reasonable price, I say go for it. An occasional jacketed bullet or two and some barrel brushing will work. If I had them, I suspect they would become my low noise 1.5 grs Bullseye out of a 357 Handi rifle back yard critter getter.

Buzz Krumhunger
08-23-2020, 07:31 PM
I would guess those were made in the mid 1960s or earlier. I remember seeing them in my uncle’s Herter Catalogue as a kid. I spent many an hour reading that thing over and over. Everything Herter sold was the “World’s best”.

:wink:

Mk42gunner
08-23-2020, 08:55 PM