PDA

View Full Version : First hand priming tool

onelight
05-28-2020, 06:10 PM
Just a little mini review.
I have been loading since 1970 and prefer priming on the press in most cases but I have the RCBS bench priming tool and have 0 complaints has always worked great used mainly for center fire rifle.
I have considered off and on getting a hand priming tool so always read the threads about them with interest , I decided to get the Frankford Arsenal . I just ran 50 , 44 special cases through it and it seems with this limited run to work well a little balky at first but fed the primers better as it was used. I was surprised at its size and weight seems to be a sturdy tool. It comes with a set of shell holders and is easy to switch from large to small primers and seating depth is adjustable with a thumb wheel . I will still prime on the press , but this will be handy to have at times. I like it so far.
Here is a pic next to my RCBS tool
Another fine example of iPad photography ;-)

Green Frog
05-28-2020, 08:23 PM
Looks nice. I may have to look ingot a setup like that, just to add to the collection. Frankford Arsenal occasionally comes up with a winner and that looks like it may be one of them. I like the idea of an all-in-one package like that. Very handy, but it looks like it will still get the job done.

My first hand priming tool was a Lyman 310 tool... wow, that's been a while! The closest to your FA that I have now is a 1st Gen Lee hand tool with screw in shell holders. A great design but chintzy construction. Yours looks like it was built to work well and to last.

Froggie

onelight
05-28-2020, 08:58 PM
It came with 12 shell holders and one of the reviews I read said that the Lee hand priming shell holders will also fit.

Winger Ed.
05-28-2020, 09:01 PM
They are handy.
I've hand primed at the dinner table if it was real hot or cold out in the shop.

mac60
05-31-2020, 10:49 AM