PDA

View Full Version : I could use some 270 help

davidheart
05-09-2020, 09:51 AM
Hey there, I recently acquired a 270win Savage 111 for my backup hunting rifle. I had a cheap Mauser in 30-06 that had a personal vendetta against me so the two of us decided to part ways. A buddy who owns a local gunshop gave this Savage in a straight trade which is wonderful.... Except I have zero experience in 270 and no anything for anything for it. I bought one box of Federal 130gr SP that was on sale for $13 because 270 isn't really popular here.

If anyone has any extra 270 brass, boolits or otherwise to help me get started in this cartridge I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you!

Tazlaw
05-09-2020, 10:23 AM
I could possibly scrounge up a small flat rate box of brass for cost of shipping if you need it. Just PM me.

Petrol & Powder
05-09-2020, 10:30 AM
While I'm not a huge fan of long actions, I am a fan of 7mm rifle projectiles.
The history of the 270 Win is well known and I will not go over it here. I will say that its good reputation seems to be well deserved. While it doesn't use the exact same diameter bullet of the 7mm family (.277" vs. .284") it's close enough that it reaps most of the same benefits of the general 7mm class. Excellent trajectory, excellent accuracy, good penetration, enough weight to get the job done but less recoil than the larger calibers, etc.; are all traits of the 270 Win.
Where the 7mm Remington mag is often overkill in the eastern U.S., the 270 Win shines.

I don't know why the 270 Win ended up with a .277" (7.0mm) bullet and everything else in the 7mm class ended up with 7.2 mm (.284") but that's what happened. I'm sure there's some American/European conflict there but whatever.