PDA

View Full Version : Ruger bisley

bigted
04-29-2020, 07:11 AM
Has anyone shot one of these with hunting rounds in a heavier recoiling chambering?

I am sure that there is. My intention is to inquire about the bisley grip and recoil handling capabilitys compared to the old style round TG super grips or even the regular blackhawk grip frames.

Thanks.

contender1
04-29-2020, 08:18 AM
Well, I have had a lot of experience with heavy recoiling calibers in both the plow handle & the Bisley g/f's. By far,, for MOST people, when handling heavy recoil, the Bisley is a preferred g/f. It's also the choice for the custom gun builders who make the heavier than normal calibers. When we were shooting a Jack Huntington .500 it was custom built, and used a Bisley g/f. And it was heavy enough to still cause folks to have serious handling issues. If you weren't familiar with that caliber,, or HEAVY recoil, we'd coach anyone who tried it. No way I'd shoot a .500 without a Bisley design. I own one in .480, and shoot a 400 grn slug out of it. It's quite pleasant for such a bigger caliber. I also own a Freedom Arms in 454,,, with their plow handle design. It has more felt recoil than the Ruger Bisley .454 I tried as a comparison.
Oh, and I hunt almost exclusively with a handgun.
Also, note that Ruger built the Super Blackhawk in .454 & .480 with only the Bisley g/f.

Wheelguns 1961
04-29-2020, 09:08 AM
All of my hunting revolvers have a bisley grip frame. The most powerful being .480 ruger. Bisley grip frames just fit my hand better. YMMV. It would be best to try before you buy.

Thumbcocker
04-29-2020, 09:57 AM
Not much middle ground on the Bisley frame. Love em or hate em. I am pro Bisley because I hate it when a gun twists in my hand. The Bisley is more straight back recoil into the palm and arm. They will sometimes rap your middle finger knuckle with thumper loads but you can work on how you hold them.

tominboise
04-29-2020, 09:59 AM