PDA

View Full Version : Newby

Ural Driver
04-21-2020, 01:46 PM
Let me begin by telling everyone that I am very new at casting. I have been gathering lead for a few years with the goal of making my own bullets or fishing weights. By my estimations I have accumulated approximately 1500 lbs of assorted lead. So, using info gathered from this and other sites, I have (finally) begun processing my (very messy and disorganized) stockpile. My first goal was to take the odd sized materials (mostly recycled plumbers lead) and smelt it into ingots thus allowing me to keep an accurate inventory...... and free up a lot of floor space. So far I have transformed about 500 lbs. of that soft plumbers lead into a neat "little" stack of ingots. I am currently working thru about 300 lbs. of Linotype that will become their own "little" stack. I still have several 50 lb bars of what I believe is pure lead along with assorted fishing and scuba diving weights to process. So, once all this material is transformed into manageable sized pieces, the plan is to begin mixing components to get suitable projectiles/weights.
So, now my first question: is there an absolute best fluxing material? I started off using what I had, pine shavings of the type used as animal bedding. They seem to do ok, but I bought some Marvalux just because I keep hearing it mentioned, a lot. The pine shavings gave me good smelling smoke, ashes that were not hard to remove from the pot and a pretty clean product. The Marvalux gave me acrid smoke (that gave me a sore throat) and a black, slimy, nasty, difficult to remove substance that left me with black wispy trails in my still liquid product. I have since found an almost unlimited supply of clean, fresh sawdust from a nearby pallet making operation. So, unless someone tells me I need to retry the Marvalux and do something different in its application, I'm thinkin that sawdust is gonna be my weapon of choice from now on.....