PDA

View Full Version : Best BHN Hardness for Hunting with ML's

edmehlig
04-17-2020, 04:29 PM
I'm fairly new to casting and was wondering if 40-1 lead is soft enough for hunting with a ML if you keep your velocity under 1400fps? The reason why I'm asking is there have been times when I cast bullets with pure lead the bullets moved off the charge while walking around the woods. A friend of mine gave me some 40-1 lead bullets that I sized with the same sizing die and I can feel the bullet having more resistance all the way down so I'm sure the bullet won't move off the charge while stalking. Your thoughts are appreciated.

M-Tecs
04-17-2020, 06:00 PM
Pure lead bullets won't move if they are of the proper size. What bullet are you using and why are you sizing them?

As to hardness 16-1 has killed a lot of game.

John McCorkle
04-17-2020, 11:44 PM
These bullets conicals I presume? Roundballs shouldn't move at all....the patch and ball size should be tight as you can possibly get without deforming the ball and as is best proven by accuracy.

I would test the diameter of your bore by slugging to see if it's maybe a few thou larger than you expected?

I've used the Lee REAL with super success (not everyone has...it's a love/hate) and they are snug to start but stay in place well.

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

megasupermagnum
04-18-2020, 12:07 AM
Sure, 40-1 alloy can work just fine, as can 30-1, 20-1, or even harder. Blackpowder is extremely forgiving. Either way, I would be sizing .001" larger than you are now. Pure lead conicals will not move if they are a snug fit. Even the Lee REAL's, which practically fall down a barrel, do not move.

M-Tecs
04-18-2020, 12:53 AM