PDA

View Full Version : Some advice needed on revolver behaviour

pattern14
04-15-2020, 11:01 PM
Some months back I posted my first thread concerning a .455 revolver of uncertain origin. Thanks to all who gave me some great feedback and info; however it has led to another aspect. This particular revolver is chambered for the original Mk 1 round in black powder, has very fine fixed sights, and seems to shoot quite well with my experimental loads ( 2.5 gns of trailboss and 220 gn RN lead projectiles). But it shoots high at 25 metres ( close enough to 25 yds for non-metric people). when i suggested using heavier projectiles to lower the P.O.I, I got a reply saying I was possibly heading in the wrong direction. Lighter bullet weight would lower it instead as there was less muzzle flip, less time spent in the barrel etc. I didn't argue because it hadn't occurred to me before, and there is always something new to learn.

I studied physics in high school, so have a basic grasp, but can some one out there explain in lay mans terms ( i.e keep it simple) how this works? It is a classic 1890's collectable in original condition, so I can't change it or mod the sights, I just want it to hit the metal silhouette at the standard target range......

Winger Ed.
04-15-2020, 11:22 PM
Are you sure you have a good sight picture?

With fixed sights, I've had to adjust mine sometimes to fit the gun for different ranges.
If its a good accurate, safe load, I'd try that.

7br
04-15-2020, 11:22 PM
Basically, during recoil, the muzzle is rising. The faster the bullet leaves the barrel, the less time the muzzle has to rise.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

BK7saum
04-15-2020, 11:43 PM
Faster and lighter will impact lower on the target.

megasupermagnum
04-16-2020, 01:20 AM
As strange as it sounds, I too have found heavy bullets generally high higher, and lighter bullets generally lower.

Outpost75
04-16-2020, 09:56 AM