PDA

View Full Version : 6 cav. moulds for .357 Sig and .45

Castnshoot
11-18-2008, 11:39 AM
I'm new to casting, still don't have all my equipment yet. Still, I'm out and about garnering all pertinent information so when I do have it all, start off knowing what I'm doing. I am going to start casting wheel weights for my .357 Sig (G32) and .45 ACP (G30).

For the .357 Sig (G32), I'm between the 356-120-TC 90387 (conventional groove) and the TL356-124-TC 90402 (microgroove). What are the pros and cons of casting either? Either one more lube/sizer friendly, accurate, barrel friendly, than the other? I also wonder why there's no 147gr molds for the .357 Sig?

For the .45 ACP (G30), I'm undecided between 452-200-SWC, 452-200-RF, and TL452-200-SWC. All six cavities. I began to prep cases for this gun last night, as I have been loading primarily for the .357 Sig, and noticed that the SWC's I bought sit pretty long, any experiences with OAL with SWC in G30's?

shotman
11-18-2008, 12:12 PM
In the sig you have to watch the OAL . That is a problem if the nose is long or the taper is too fast. Because of the short case to boolit area. I use the Lee TL 356-124 works good with titegroup and the 45 I like TL 452-200 and 5.5gr titegroup. dont remember the load on the sig. I bought a 1000 of the rem gold saber . I loaded some and the crimp was just above the off set on the bullet all the bullets fell inside the case. They are not fun to get out after the case is crimped. Check the boolits BEFORE you size they may do better in a glock out of the mold. My buddys 10mm does rick

Castnshoot
11-18-2008, 01:13 PM