PDA

View Full Version : problems with lyman .429 hp

savage308
02-29-2020, 12:16 AM
I have been casting for 25 years and have always been able to eventually get a mold to drop good boolits
but I have never cast a lyman hollow point mold. Mine have always been LEE or RCBS. I am using clip on ww at 775 degrees and preheated the mold and cannot get good fill at the base or near the point. most have a lot of wrinkles also. help me with the process .

Walks
02-29-2020, 01:56 AM
Dip the Pin into the mold before inserting it in the Pin cavity.
That's what works for me. I count to 10 before opening the mold after filling.
Cast fast using only the HP mold.

Larry Gibson
02-29-2020, 10:57 AM
As mentioned you must keep the HP stem hot. I use this to keep the HP stem hot during casting, especially if casting in a cool/cold location.

Also, I cast at 715 - 725 degrees (by thermometer), cast at a quick tempo and inspect the bullets later or while the sprue is hardening.....usually later. The idea is to keep the mould hot with a quick tempo and not let it cool much between castings.

Also with COWWs for use in HPs, especially larger ones of 250 + gr I add 2% tin to the COWW then mix it 50/50 or 30/70 with pure lead. Otherwise straight COWW is too brittle and usually too hard to expand much or reliably at hand gun velocity. Also, whether with a bottom pour or dipper, the alloy must be gotten into the cavity as quick as possible with a really good sprue poured.

Tripplebeards
02-29-2020, 09:48 PM