PDA

View Full Version : car problem (real head scratcher)

Battis
02-25-2020, 10:25 AM
My 2005 Lincoln Towncar (104,000 miles) bucks at approx. 40 MPH when I give it the gas. No codes show up. If I turn off the overdrive it doesn't happen.
Trusted mechanic said it's probably the transmission (he described what he thought was the problem).
Transmission guy said it sounds like a misfire.
Any ideas?

35isit
02-25-2020, 11:19 AM
Have someone with the proper scan tool figure which coil is dropping out.

Battis
02-25-2020, 11:33 AM
That's the problem - no codes are showing up.

colt38sp
02-25-2020, 11:37 AM
Sounds like the Torque Converter. I had this happen once on a F-150 and all it needed was a fluid/filter change and problem went away. I am no mechanic though.

Plate plinker
02-25-2020, 11:39 AM
Your halfway there. By turning off the overdrive you have in my non mechanic mind proved it is the transmission. Seems it could be the torque converter lock up get flaky. Find a better transmission guy.

35isit
02-25-2020, 11:52 AM
That's the problem - no codes are showing up. It doesn't have a bad enough miss to turn on check engine light. A scan tool that shows what each cylinder is doing will show which one or (ones) are dropping out under stress. When you turn off overdrive there is not as much stress on engine.

nvbirdman
02-25-2020, 12:06 PM
I think maybe the reason you're not getting an engine code is because the problem is not in the engine. Check the transmission.

popper
02-25-2020, 12:09 PM
Could be either. Torque converter is 'locked' when in overdrive - had that happen on a couple autos. Solenoid in trans. controls it. Over-run clutch in converter will cause it to buck when slowing down to stop - won't unlock usually due to crud in the clutch. Could be low engine torque 'lugging' in OD or computer not dropping OD when lugged. Yup, need scan tool while driving (loaded).

s mac
02-25-2020, 12:19 PM