PDA

View Full Version : BHN after powder coating

MR CHEN
02-10-2020, 10:37 PM
Will the powder coating process (400*for 20 min) soften the bullet alloy.
If so, is there a rule of thumb, or do you have to test?
My alloy is 9.5lbs coww and 0.5 lb of 60/40 soldier. According to bumpo628s calculator it should be a bhn of 12.2. Don't want to go any softer or harder.

mehavey
02-10-2020, 11:02 PM
If you're normally air-cooling (vice water drop), no appreciable effect.

FWIW: I wouldn't rely any any alloy "calculator"
Get a Lyman BHN tester and get a measured number.

la5676
02-10-2020, 11:36 PM
I'll post a really silly kweshun here, as I'm new to PC. I've never shot anything but straight COWW on pistols with the old traditional lube, always some mix of lino and COWW for rifles. I'm going the PC route now for all my pistol shooting. Question is, if the PC is providing a "jacket" more or less, is the BHN really that much of an issue anymore. The lead never comes into contact with the rifling (if your PC coating is good). Obturation is obtained easier with softer lead not driving so hard. Is there another factor at play here with the PC method different from the old 45-45-10 lube method? Curious minds need to know.

JonB_in_Glencoe
02-10-2020, 11:43 PM
Will the powder coating process (400*for 20 min) soften the bullet alloy.
If so, is there a rule of thumb, or do you have to test?
My alloy is 9.5lbs coww and 0.5 lb of 60/40 soldier. According to bumpo628s calculator it should be a bhn of 12.2. Don't want to go any softer or harder.

PC process (bake@400º) will anneal or partially anneal your alloy.

JonB_in_Glencoe
02-10-2020, 11:45 PM