PDA

View Full Version : 223->221, what am I doing wrong?

HP-Sauce
02-08-2020, 04:32 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200208/6109bc743cb44334876f6414ae50e078.jpg

This is my first attempt in forming cases, I don’t have any sneaking equipment so I just throw these on the press mostly to see if I can do it. I started out with range picked up PMC .223 that had been deprimed and wet tumbled.

I lube the case with spray lanolin in alcohol and use a Redding .221 trim die followed by FL die on a Forster Co-Ax. I had read some of the treads here on forming 221 brass but that don’t seem to get me anywhere.

I also have a 300blk die set and 221 neck die, should I use those as intermediate steps?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HP-Sauce
02-08-2020, 04:34 AM
*annealing not sneaking

Hickory
02-08-2020, 04:50 AM
Keep the neck & shoulder area dry of any and all lube, always.
Anneal the neck and shoulder of your cases.
If you have a 222 sizer die make your first draw with it.
Anneal the neck and shoulders again.
Finish drawing cases down in one or two more steps annealing in between each step.

GARD72977
02-08-2020, 05:20 AM
Try some Imperial sizing wax instead of the spray lube. I make 221 using a Redding form die. It's been a while but the form die makes the job much easier.

BK7saum
02-08-2020, 10:09 AM
As stated you'll need to remove all lube from the neck area. lube leads to dents then to wrinkles. I have formed 221 from 223 in an intermediate step of going to17 fireball. I did anneal before forming. Also, sometimes it is helpful to start with die screwed out, then form in steps as you thread the die in a half turn at a time. I had best luck with winchester brass although RP worked pretty good also. Main thing is no lube on the neck/shoulder. after you lube the cases, wipe the neck and shoulder to be formed with a rag, trying to remove the lube, whatever residual remains will be sufficient. Brad

country gent
02-08-2020, 11:51 AM