PDA

View Full Version : 1/3 boolit speckled, remaining looks good, novice caster

soflarick
01-19-2020, 09:53 AM
3 new Lee molds. Scrubbed all three with Dawn, then 90% iso alcohol, heated till dry.

Fourth session with each mold. Casting temp with a cheap analog gauge is consistently at 650ish. Range scrap with just under 1% more tin from a roll of 50/50 solder. Using a Lee bottom pour pot. Fluxing with wood shavings, then some candle wax.

I'm new to casting, so it's probably me. I've been working on it for a few days, experiencing what to look for, what to do, diagnosing issues, etc. I'm now much better at getting and keeping molds at temp, touching them on a sponge when I can tell it's time. I stir the mix with a wood dowel now and then. I'm not messing with the sprue leftovers, nor the boolits, while casting. Trying to keep a rhythm. I drop onto a silicon bake pan.

Issue I'm experiencing with all the molds is that the boolits all exhibit some kind of frosted speckled appearance on about a third of the boolit, then the remainder has a dull-smooth (nice to me) appearance, with what looks like good fill out. The areas of the frosted speckle appearance can go either way with fill-out appearance.

So, I scrubbed again with a toothbrush and dawn, but same issue occurs. Tried pot temp from 600 through 725; same result. However, they are looking better on the fourth casting session than any of the first three.

The molds themselves are a 405gr 45 cal hollow base, a 450gr 45 cal solid, and a 60 cal ball.

Molds still dirty? Not fluxing enough? Molds need more time in use? Nut behind the wheel needs what?

I can post photos later.

Rcmaveric
01-19-2020, 09:59 AM
Frosted bullets means your molds too hot. Won't hurt nothing. Once the frost starts showing swipe your mold across a damp.sponge for a few seconds. That will help.