PDA

View Full Version : Cz 457 vs Tikka t1x 17hmr?

Ohio686
01-11-2020, 09:25 AM
I am looking at both rifles and can't seem to make up my mind. Anybody have any experience with either rifle? Any other suggestions that I might be overlooking?

sigep1764
01-11-2020, 03:20 PM
Check out Rimfire Central.com. Lots of reviews on both rifles and lovers of both. Being a CZ owner, I am biased and would purchase the 457 to go next to my 455, Redhead Deluxe, and 75B. Please do not make the decision based on my opinion, I have no experience with either and hear Tikka's are nice.

Ohio686
01-11-2020, 10:47 PM
Thanks for the honest opinion. I am leaning towards the cz.

Minerat
01-11-2020, 11:42 PM
I have a Brno model 1 in 22lr the predecessor to the 457 and a 527 in 17 HH so I'm prejudice too but I am very impresses with CZ. Sorry no help on the Tikka.

idahoron
01-12-2020, 10:20 AM
I am no help with the 457 or the tikka. But I do have a few CZ rifles. The first one I got was CZ 455 Varmint. I got it in the 17HMR to replace a 22mag that was stolen. What I was not used to was the backwards safety. I have to pull my safety back to take it off safe to shoot. The next thing I didn't like was the trigger. The trigger in my 455 was junk. I replaced it with a Timney and it was all good. I love my 455 now, it shoots great out to 150 yards. I have shot a couple of chucks out to 238 yards.

https://i.imgur.com/XMZDvlG.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/DH5zlaB.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/LHojz7a.jpg

That being said the 457 was made to correct these problem. The 457 action is brand new. They shortened it a bit, Gave it a new trigger, and a push off safety. On paper the 457 is a far better rifle. When I shoot my 455 I am so impressed with the rifle that the 457 should be a great rifle.

https://i.imgur.com/dEqXqXz.jpg

Obverse
01-15-2020, 09:21 AM