PDA

View Full Version : So I slugged my barrel and need recommendation

DaveO
12-14-2019, 09:27 PM
Just slugged my 9mm pistol and it measured .356 with my micrometer.
What do I size my boolits to?
Do I go .001 over the measured size (.357) or use the .356 sizer?
They will be powder coated.
I am new to casting, but have been reloading for years.
Thanks

Rcmaveric
12-14-2019, 10:07 PM
Just slugs the throat a little to get an impression of it.

You can size from throat diameter to bore diameter. Take your pick. I like to be about throat diameter.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

dtknowles
12-15-2019, 01:04 AM
Will rounds loaded with .357 bullets fully chamber and easily extract if not fired? If you use standard dies in the normal manner your ammo might look bulged by the bullet and if your bullets are soft the may get sized down during seating. This is more of an issue with heavier bullets. You can back off the sizer some and use a bigger expander if your chamber is typical but you need to verify reliable function. Sloppy fit let's the gun run freer but not necessarily as accurately. If your lands are not a lot narrower than the grooves and you are using soft bullets even .355 bullets should be fine. Not knowing all your specifics I would suggest .356.

Added. It might not be an issue for you but if you want to use the ammo in more than one gun, you have to accommodate the smallest chamber and the fussiest gun. I have four 9 x 19's and one is very fussy.

Tim

tazman
12-15-2019, 07:45 AM
Start with .357 and see if they chamber freely. I own 8 different 9mm handguns and they all accept .357 boolits with no issues and shoot accurately with them.

dale2242
12-15-2019, 08:35 AM
I sized my bullets for my 9MM to .358.
They chamber and shoot just fine...dale

onelight
12-15-2019, 08:50 AM