PDA

View Full Version : rifle build.

sharpshot69
12-11-2019, 10:15 PM
Not sure this is the place for this post. If not please move to where it should be. Anyway, I am building a single shot in .44/70 and the rifle weighs in right at 7lb. My question is what kind of recoil can I expect shooting holy black.

sharpshot69
12-11-2019, 10:21 PM
I failed to mention this is a paper patched bullet at 250 gr. Bore rider.

Winger Ed.
12-11-2019, 10:29 PM
Of the .45/70s I've shot with BP, and 70 gr. with a 420 cast, it seems more like a firm push than a kick compared to smokeless.

trails4u
12-11-2019, 10:31 PM
I suspect this combo should be rather pleasant to shoot.... I shoot a lot of .43 Spanish at similar powder charges in rifles not much heavier, and it's not enough recoil to even discuss. I think you'll enjoy it!

sharpshot69
12-11-2019, 10:44 PM
Sounds good. I have shot plenty of BP in muzzle loaders but this is my first build in a BP cartridge rifle. All my muzzle loaders have been a bit heavier than 7 lb. Age has also seen fit to give me a bit of a shooting shoulder problem. Nothing real bad but did have to quit shooting the .3006 feather weight in anything heavier than around 130 gr.

trails4u
12-11-2019, 10:49 PM
At 250gr, I suspect you could also reduce your charge and use a filler, thus dialing in recoil to wherever you'd like it to be. That's a pretty light bullet for caliber, so it shouldn't be hard to push it fast enough for accuracy and comfort.

Enjoy figuring it out....that's the best part!!

sharpshot69
12-11-2019, 11:03 PM
This is going to be a hunting rifle and here in our part of Michigan a 200 yard shot is pretty rare. So I figure around 70 or so grain BP. and 250 grain or so soft lead around 16 to one should do it. And yes trails4u this build has been great fun and I am sure it will continue to be. My mind is already thinking about a .32/40 down the road. :razz:

Edward
12-12-2019, 06:49 AM