PDA

View Full Version : New on board

BRYAN
11-10-2008, 03:39 AM
I've been lurking around here only a couple weeks, but I have aready picked up a lot of tips. By way of introduction, I have been reloading for almost 25 yrs, casting for about 20 yrs. My experience in casting is long but not terribly deep. For several years I cast a good bit for my pistol, rifle, and muzzle loaders using mostly Lee equipment, even the Lee dipper (it made a great pot skimmer). In the 90's I used a good friend and gunsmith's sizing equipment. My good friend has since escaped the trials of this life and I have not cast for several years. I recently ordered a RCBS Lubrisizer, a new pot and a few other goodies to get me back in business. I am presently "down range" serving as a Ordnance Officer and anticipate getting home for Christmas. I wish I had found this site months ago, it would have been a nice diversion from the stressful work here. If anyone ask, there is not a lot of fun things to do in your spare time in Iraq.

missionary5155
11-10-2008, 04:56 AM
Good morning and GREETINGS !
Welcome ! Always good to have another serving trooper with us. Your branch did a fine job keeping my M60A1 churning up soil (71-74). I understand the boredom factor... I used to wonder why the Green Machine printed so many FMs about nuts and bolts .. what else can ya do when sitting on a nameless stack of ammo in the middle of the bushes and you cannot find any caliber 50 tracer ammo to make a mini-mortor.
May God keep you safe and take you home again. Mike

Linstrum
11-10-2008, 06:35 AM
Hey, there, Bryan! Welcome aboard!

I started casting in 1964, but compared to what I know now, I didn't know much until after I found the group of guys who hang out here in this web site.

In other words, this is THE PLACE for learning about how to cast all sorts of boolits and then how to shoot them.

I hope your anticipations are met and you can make it back for Christmas, Godspeed to you!

rl470

Bret4207