PDA

View Full Version : Refinishing a stock

hotwheelz
11-08-2008, 09:45 PM
Hey guys this is my first attempt at refinishing a stock I have it stipped , now I was going to do some final sanding that looks like it never got before the last finish that was put on it . I dont want to stain it I would like to brighten it up and seal it what do you guys recomend ?? Here are a couple before and after picks so far ... Sory about the lighting it got dark outside before I finished so it loks a litte differnt

http://i380.photobucket.com/albums/oo241/Hothweelzz/Picture031.jpg
http://i380.photobucket.com/albums/oo241/Hothweelzz/Picture036.jpg
http://i380.photobucket.com/albums/oo241/Hothweelzz/Picture028.jpg
http://i380.photobucket.com/albums/oo241/Hothweelzz/Picture039.jpg

waksupi
11-08-2008, 10:13 PM
In a recent thread, we had talked about the Watco Danish Oil finish. This does come in a clear color I believe, that will enhance grain, without covering it up as stains will. I don't like stains much either, as corner wear will show up eventually, detracting from the appearance.

MtGun44
11-09-2008, 02:27 AM
Watco does come in clear, and this is my choice.

Waksupi - do you do stock finishing professionally?

I'm a mere amateur, but I had an very experienced woodworker friend teach
me about Watco and how to use it 33 years ago and I always keep a can
around. I restocked a .22 falling block a couple of years ago and made the
stocks (literally) from walnut firewood from my wood pile. LOTS of work, but
very rewarding and the Watco did extremely well, just like it had on other
fine wood projects in the past. I love the stuff.

Now I need to teach myself to checker. My first effort was a real mess!
Fortunately on a scrap of walnut made to simulate a forend, but yikes it
turned to crap pretty quickly!

Bill

waksupi
11-09-2008, 03:06 AM
Mtgun44