PDA

View Full Version : I'm smelting! I'm smelting!!

Patrick L
11-08-2008, 07:54 PM
Took advantage of the wife and daughter being away for the day and mixed up some bullet alloy. I do 20-1 WW to tin by volume; 20 WW ingots to one tin ingot. My ingots are mini muffin size.

Here's my setup
http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb157/patrickl_01/Smelting/GunStuff063.jpg
I would normally smelt totally outside, but drizzle was in the forecast. I had the garage doors open at both ends, plus one open window and had a floor fan going the whole time.

The 5 gallon buckets in the far corner, under the shelves, are full of clean WW ingots I smelted about 2 years ago. That's about a 10 year supply for me.

I am fortunate my dad (retired now) was a contractor by trade, so I have this neat plumbers pot

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb157/patrickl_01/Smelting/GunStuff061.jpg

Here's todays production, and this should last me 2-3 years. That .50 caliber can is HEAVY when its full and I could barely carry it to the casting area.
http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb157/patrickl_01/Smelting/GunStuff062.jpg

I also had these bullets that need a second chance at a useful life. Some of them are from the recent .45 H&G 68 group buy that turned out to be mismachined. These yielded me about another half of a .50 cal can, so I'm good for awhile.
http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb157/patrickl_01/Smelting/GunStuff064.jpg

Not a bad way to spend the day!

PS Oh, regarding the box of toys in the background, no I'm not stupid. I recently cleared out the attic and they are broken toys/junk waiting to be thrown out; I would never handle lead around my childrens' stuff!!!

docone31
11-08-2008, 08:15 PM
Very little is more satisfying!

crabo
11-08-2008, 09:17 PM
You just think you have enough to last 2 or 3 years!

454PB
11-08-2008, 09:34 PM
What fun!

I'm curious......can you get that propane bottle refilled? I'm sure they wouldn't fill it where I live, it doesn't have the correct valving.