PDA

View Full Version : What do I use to flair rifle cases for cast?

Tripplebeards
11-13-2019, 10:40 PM
Yeah I know it’s a dumb question but I’ve been casting for two years now only in straight wall pistol ammo and my pistol dies have always comes with a flair die. Well I want to load up some 35 Whelan and 35 Remington and was just about to start reloading them and thought how am I going to expand my .358 case necks? I would assume I can’t use my 44 caliber of 45 caliber expander dies. I do on a Lee factory crimp Collett die to squeeze it back down after my boolit is seated..

brewer12345
11-13-2019, 10:45 PM
You can get Lyman M dies in your caliber or Lee sells and inexpensive universal flare die.

RKJ
11-13-2019, 10:50 PM
Lee makes a "Universal expanding die" which I use. I see it on Amazon for $14.98. It works pretty well and simple.

txbirdman
Needle nose plyers

Tripplebeards
Thanks I just ordered a lee off of eBay for $16.91 shipped. Amazon will jam me for shipping if I don’t spend 25 bucks. Guess I’m dead in the water till it shows up ... Or try the needle nose pliers trick.lol

Wheelgun
11-13-2019, 10:52 PM
I use the Lee universal expander and/or the NOE expander plugs.

Tripplebeards
11-13-2019, 10:54 PM
I was going to ask if I have to crimp as well... I knew the answer since the case was being flared and it has to pushed back flush. I have a 35 Remington factory crimp Collett die. I’m guessing it will work for the Whelen as well?

GregLaROCHE
11-13-2019, 11:18 PM
You may want to look into NOE’s expanders in the future. They aren’t expensive and will fit in the Lee expander tool. They give you more options on how the case is expanded.

Tom W.
11-13-2019, 11:20 PM
I bought one by RCBS from Midway years ago that I use to flare my 30/30 and 30-06....

Tripplebeards
11-13-2019, 11:23 PM
35 rem Collett die will not work. I stuck a load of 35 whelen case in it and the neck goes way above the collet.

Pablo 5959
11-13-2019, 11:26 PM