PDA

View Full Version : Red Army Standard Ammo and SKS-AK Rifles

Eddie1971
11-07-2019, 04:54 PM
I am having some ammo issues with my SKS and AK's. I know that the SKS is prone to slamfires, but in my entire life, I have never experienced this until now. Recently I got a batch of Red Army Standard 7.62 made in Russia. I was told this was great stuff and made at same factory as Golden Tiger.

Anyways, i have been experiencing slamfires in all of my SKS and AK rifles with this ammo. All these rifles never slamfire until now. Like I said, this is something that I ever had happen and I've been shooting SKS rifles since the 1980"s.

All my rifles have clean firing pins that have no grease in channels of bolt. Also one of the guns is a pre-1952 with the spring loaded firing pin and I got a nice 3 round burst out of that as well. I was wondering if anybody else has experienced this? I have another RAS case left but going forward I will get Wolf or Tulammo for sure.

Bloodman14
11-07-2019, 05:23 PM
I don't know about the AK platforms, but check the sear engagement angle. Surplusrifle.com had an article about checking that, but, alas, is no longer a functioning website. Maybe Google can help?

Der Gebirgsjager
11-07-2019, 05:51 PM
Although SKS slam fires are not unheard of, as you have shown an awareness of in your original post they usually result from crud in the firing pin channel or a gunky pin. Since yours are clean, it really sounds like an ammo problem. I have several SKS rifles and have never experienced a slam fire, but load them cautiously and keep the muzzle pointed in a safe direction. I've never used RAS ammo, but several other brands.

Gtek
11-07-2019, 06:14 PM
The single load slam can be a an issue on some with the loss of friction from underneath without rounds or mag dragging. If it is occurring across several of your weapons I would say maybe some soft primers?

Valornor
11-08-2019, 12:44 AM