PDA

View Full Version : Reloading Die update needed?

avogunner
10-25-2019, 07:07 AM
I've been reloading since 1981 when I bought a Pacific reloading kit (press, measure, beam scale, etc) as a young Marine LCpl. When I bought the kit I picked up some Pacific Durachrome dies for the calibers I loaded then (still load for); .30-06, .35 Rem, .30-30, .45 ACP, and .38/357 (by the way, they were $11 brand spanking new then). I've picked up some additional dies over the years from other manufacturers when I've added calibers to load for but I've never bought a duplicate caliber of what I have already.
So...my question is, what are your thoughts on updating 30+ year old dies? This applies to all calibers but I'm specifically thinking of my .30-06 right this second - I've loaded thousands of rounds with those dies for my Garand's, 03's, and Win 1895, and they seem to keep producing fine ammo but would I see any benefit a newer set? Has there been any significant design/product improvement in rifle die performance that I could benefit from?
Thanks for your thoughts....
Semper Fi.

pworley1
10-25-2019, 07:15 AM
Unless the dies you have are not producing quality ammo, there is no need to update your dies. If you want new dies, there is nothing wrong with getting them.

smithnframe
10-25-2019, 07:23 AM
I'm still using dies from the 30's in my Lyman tru-line junior!

Bent Ramrod
10-25-2019, 09:44 AM
Almost all the dies I’ve ever bought are used.

Among the few “upgrades” I’ve bought (also used) are carbide dies for straight walled pistol cases, to avoid the lubing step. I’ve gotten lazy in my old age. Also, if I have a chance to get Redding dies used&cheap, or RCBS same, I might pick them up to replace older dies of more obscure lineage. This doesn’t always improve the quality of the reloaded ammo, but if not, I’m only out a double sawski or so.