PDA

View Full Version : The idiots guide to reloading

mpescatori
10-24-2019, 11:22 AM
Hello all, Maurizio from Rome, Italy.

I currently shoot 12 and 16 ga., .38 and .44 Mag (ouch…)
I would like to reload, in order to have softer loads and to experiment with subsonic ammo.
I would also like to reload 30-06 and .308 for rifles. (I have an M1 garand and would like to find a good bolt action)

Question #1: considering that any and all reload equipment is US made anyway, what would you recommend for an absolute newbie?
I need something akin to"Reloading for Idiots", something I can operate in 1.2.3.4.5 step drills
(By the way, IS there a book "Reloading for idiots"?)

Question #2: who can advise me on which cartridges can be shot (with an adapter) in .30 cal rifles?
For certain, .30 Luger (but these days they're more expensive than .308s) and .30 WC; .32acp is really a peewee cartridge.
And in CF.22s like a .222 or .223? For certain, .22LR, but what else?

Thank you

Maurizio

Froogal
10-24-2019, 11:26 AM
A LEE single stage press delivers the best bang for the buck. I chose it for the price and have not been disappointed in the quality or functionality.

Kraschenbirn
10-24-2019, 12:13 PM
Not actually a "reloading for idiots" but try "reloading for dummies" on Amazon and you'll get several pages of reloading guides/manuals. Over the 60+ years since I was introduced to reloading by a Boy Scout shooting coach, I've accumulated a long, long bookshelf of reloading guides and manuals and can't recall any that really stand out above the rest. Looking at the Amazon list, I see the 'Shooter's Bible Guide to Reloading' is still around (my well-thumbed copy is dated 1972) and "ABCs of Reloading" is on it's 9th edition; either would provide adequate information on the equipment and mechanics of the process but neither include actual load data so you'll also need a reloading manual published by one of the equipment manufacturers.

Bill

cwlongshot
10-24-2019, 12:18 PM