PDA

View Full Version : looking for .321 round nose for old Remington 14 .32 Rem

Adam Lee
10-13-2019, 06:21 AM
Well, good morning folks. I'm a newbie and have a grand total of 5 posts at this point, wow. LOL

So here's something I as a newbie to reloading as well as cast boolits have a problem with: a lack of .321 sized round-nose boolits to load for my old Remington 14 pump rifle. Occasionally Buffalo Arms sells a short run of their "new" brass .32 with RN profile soft points, but I seem to miss the boat on that every year.

They usually keep the 170 grain flat points in stock longer - of course, that's since Remington 8's and 81's can shoot both .32 bullet profiles with no troubles. Unlike my Model 14 pump.

Would any one of you fine folks wish to help me learn where or how to locate some correct round-nose cast or jacketed pills for my reloading projects? I appreciate any ideas guys. Thank you so much!

Adam

Adam Lee
10-13-2019, 06:24 AM
By the way, I forgot to label the photos I added. The plastic bucket of ammo is a portion of some of the vintage .32 Rem RN I bought a few years back on GB. I hope to be able to anneal a bunch of the cases I disassembled a while ago, so I can reload them with fresh primers/powder and boolits.

Green Frog
10-13-2019, 07:29 AM
Adam Lee, perhaps you could make some “Mexican Match” reloads while you are looking for a mould... we used to break down military ammo of dubious history or provenance, saving the brass and bullets.. With fresh primer and powder of known quality we then had a sort of “semi-match” round we knew would be safe and reliable. :grin:

As for the mould you are looking for, have you searched auction sites (especially e-Bay) thoroughly? I see that style of mould listed periodically as I look for 319XXX moulds for 32-40s. :coffeecom

Froggie

leadhead
10-13-2019, 09:41 AM
I killed my first buck with .32 Remington 14. I think they were 170 gr jacketed soft points.
Great rifles.....wish I still had it.
Denny