PDA

View Full Version : Hunting antelope in Wyoming?

Wolfer
08-24-2019, 08:57 PM
Ive been wanting to go Antelope hunting for some time now. Looks like Wyoming is my best shot.
The problem is that to apply for a tag I have to know what unit I want to hunt. I’m having a hard time sorting out info on the WG&F website.

I plan on making a trip out there in Oct just to put some boots on the ground so to speak. Hopefully I can find a suitable place to apply for next year.

Any tips or advise would be greatly appreciated.

rancher1913
08-24-2019, 09:17 PM
might look at north east colorado as well, they are so bad here that landowners can get nuisance tags and hunt whenever they want

oldblinddog
08-25-2019, 12:02 AM
I’ve been applying in WY for five years and haven’t been drawn yet.

Minerat
08-25-2019, 12:50 AM
In Colorado the general draw for a public land buck takes 15 points minimum. For those not savvy with Colorado, thats 15 years waiting unless you have access to private land. It seems to jump 1 point each year.

I've been trying for 12 years and no luck, unless you want to pay a guide to get access to private land or trespass fee. Not complaining that's just the way it is. Maybe next year.

knifemaker
08-25-2019, 12:57 AM
I have hunted Wyoming many times in the past for antelope. The western part has a lot of public land and most out of state hunters apply there and getting draw for a tag is hard. The Eastern part bordering Nebraska is 90% private land with ranches and it is easier to draw a tag in that area. You will have to deal with paying a trespass fee to hunt on a private ranch. Most ranchers want the antelope herds kept down in size and will charge a lessor amount for trespassing hunting antelope then they will for deer. Some ranchers will stick it to you if they get a chance, but if you shop around you should find a rancher that will treat you fairly on the fees and having a good amount of antelope on his property.