PDA

View Full Version : Tri-ball?

yondering
10-29-2008, 05:10 PM
OK, this'll be directed mostly at James, but maybe others would have input too? I've ordered a Lee .600" round ball and plan to make up some tri-ball loads, as James Gates has described, using hard cast balls. I ordered the BPI Multi-Metal 3" wads with a .045" wall (http://www.ballisticproducts.com/prodinfo.asp?number=3221230), which do not have a cushioned base. Is a .25" cork wad acceptable for a cushion? Or maybe I need two cork wads?

Also, I saw a post recommending to start with 28gr Blue Dot for this load. Can anyone verify this? If I "start" with 28gr, how much farther can I go?

Thanks in advance.

Adam604
10-29-2008, 11:41 PM
Hi,

I'm not an expert at shotgun shell loading.

I have tried a few multi ball loads:

I used 2 Hornady .578 round balls in a 2 3/4 hull.

Load #1:
Federal target hull
Federal 209A Primers
20 Grains Unique
Federal 12S3 wads (pink)
20 gauge card wad with a hole punched into the center
Hornady ball
Cream of Wheat to cover Ball
20 gauge card wad with a hole punched into the center
Hornady ball
Cream of Wheat to cover Ball
Crimp with a 8 segment fold

I only loaded 5 of these and got good results at 40 yards, both balls hit about 3 inches or less apart at point of aim. Recoil was mild. I haven't shot more as I've been playing with LEE slugs and .735 Round Ball

I tried two rounds with out the center hole punched spacers and the results were not very good, one ball very near point of aim and the other barely on the 4'x4' sheet of paper.

As James of Dixie Slug has mentioned, the center punched wad or donuts wad seems to have a good bit of merit to it.

Future loads of heavy shot for me will be using Blue Dot...

Adam604

turbo1889
10-30-2008, 12:30 AM