PDA

View Full Version : Traeger Grills

dale2242
07-11-2019, 08:27 AM
Every person that I have talked to that owns a Traeger grill just raves about them.
The only thing keeping me from buying one is the price.
My question is: Is there a knock off grill out there that is equal to the Traeger for less money?
I see a few grills that look and operate like the Traeger for less money.

DougGuy
07-11-2019, 08:44 AM
If you want to replace your China made Traeger knock off in a few years, buy one. I bought a used Traeger over 10yrs ago, the steel in the body will last easily another 20-30 years. It's heavy. I have seen the copies, reminds me of the days of my youth where we would laughingly comment about Honda motorcycles made out of beer cans. Same deal.

Huskerguy
07-11-2019, 09:08 AM
I was in the same boat. I couldn't justify the price of a new Traeger. I am new to smoking, have done a little on the grill over the years but I am easing into retirement and thought this was something I wanted to learn. I have no doubt I could hand a Traeger down to my kids but for my needs right now I went with a Pit Boss. Since I haven't used them both, I can't do a side by side comparison. I just know I spent $400 and it does everything I want to do.

Arkansas Paul
07-11-2019, 09:53 AM
I know several people with a Pit Boss and they rave about them.

reloader28
07-11-2019, 09:57 AM
Go read some grilling/bbq forums. The Camp Chef Wood Wind (I think its called) is sposed to be better and cheaper. Its the one I would get but there are several that are better than Traeger.

ShooterAZ
07-11-2019, 09:58 AM
We own a Traeger, and we love it. Yeah it's a little spendy up front, but I will say that their customer service is second to none if you ever have a problem with it. Keeps the temperature right where you set it, just like an oven. I give them a thumbs up, I don't think you'll regret the purchase of one. It's been a good investment for us for sure.

dangitgriff
07-11-2019, 11:33 AM