PDA

View Full Version : 44/40 boolit

txpete
10-28-2008, 08:02 AM
the lee 200 gr fn bullet a good one for the 44/40??.crimp groove in the right place or lyman 427666 be better?.

BUFFALOW RED
10-28-2008, 08:25 AM
if you shoot BP youll want the Big Lube Bullet 200 gr

missionary5155
10-28-2008, 09:02 AM
Greetings Txpete
Beforte you do anything Slug the chamber area... My 1892 44-40 NEEDS .432 + boolits to fill the chamber. Use the correct diameter for your chamber and you CAN use most any 44 boolit.
I shoot 200-260 grain and right today my favorite is a 220 Saeco that drops at .434 using near pure lead. VERY accurate with 8-10 grains Unique.
The chamber area is the key !

Springfield
10-28-2008, 12:07 PM
I'm no expert but it seems to me bore diameter is more important than chamber size. If you use a .434 bullet to fill a large chamber but you happen to have a .427 barrel I would think that excessive pressure might arise. Besides, the brass is going to expand to fill the chamber on firing, especially with thin 44-40 brass. The bullet is only in the chamber while at rest. It does it's real work in the bore.

Harry O
10-28-2008, 03:17 PM
In most cases, I agree with the statement about making the size of the bullet match the chamber (ie: use the largest bullet that will allow the cartridge to chamber). I have shot bullets up to 0.005" and 0.006" more than groove diameter (in guns with sloppy chambers) and they were usually MORE accurate than those that were 0.001" over groove diameter. I have given more details on my tests on other posts.

However, I did have a problem with some Ruger Vaquero 44-40's in doing this. The barrel was 0.430". The chamber did not allow anything larger than 0.427". Bad enough, but the front of the chamber was sized 0.424". Even worse. So the bullet had to squeeze down 0.003", then expand 0.006" within one bullet length. It did not work.