PDA

View Full Version : New to the 94,and have a few questions.

Elroy
06-27-2019, 02:31 PM
Hello from Jackson Co. WVa..I just joined this forum today..I have been reloading for several years,but the only lever gun I have loaded for is an old Savage 99..I recently bought a Winchester 94 30-30 ,and intend on just using it to plink,and carry in the truck,or on 4 wheeler..I ordered dies,including a crimp die off ebay,and brass,and bullets from Midway,and should get them in a day or two.I went cheap on bullets with 110gr Speer varminteer hollow points #1835,and intend to use Win 748.I kind of regret not getting a better bullet after reading about some folks have feeding issues with them,but I really dont understand why.From the looks of them they look like they should be just fine in a tube feed,and Speer list data for them.Any one have expierence with this bullet?.I have never had much expeirence with the 30-30 or the 94 so I also dont know what to expect as far as accuracy.What is concidered good accuracy at 100 yards for this gun with a good handload?. If I ever do decide to load for whitetail is 150,or 170gr,or something else best? thanks

Shawlerbrook
06-27-2019, 03:04 PM
Either 150 or 170 will work great on whitetails. Whatever your gun shoots best.

Elroy
06-27-2019, 03:48 PM
Thanks

redhawk0
06-27-2019, 03:56 PM
For deer you might want to try a 170gr FN Bullet along with 32.0 grains of the W748. That was the old (maybe still current) factory load for winchester ammo. It shoot real well in my 94. If you can't find a 170 load that works well...try 150s. Like Shawlerbrook said...whatever shoots best.

redhawk

Elroy
06-27-2019, 04:03 PM
For deer you might want to try a 170gr FN Bullet along with 32.0 grains of the W748. That was the old (maybe still current) factory load for winchester ammo. It shoot real well in my 94. If you can't find a 170 load that works well...try 150s. Like Shawlerbrook said...whatever shoots best.

redhawk