PDA

View Full Version : If you had the choice, which would you choose?

Land Owner
06-07-2019, 05:06 AM
[LATE NOTE] See post #29 also.

My reloading, shooting, and hunting Mentor for more than 30-years passed in 2017 taking the air out of the room and my motivation with him. It was like getting sucker punched in the gut from which I have not yet recovered.

He left me his estate including his RCBS Rockchucker, dies, and the plethora of guns and equipment (mostly green) amassed in his years of shooting and reloading. I have been "dead" to reloading, shooting, and hunting since his passing.

Yesterday my next door neighbor of 2-years approached me to teach him how to reload!?! He's younger than me as well a Fireman for the Orlando Airport - all well and good. I'm a recently retired Civil/Structural Engineer.

He is also pro-RKBA and displays his "Don't Tread On Me" license plate on his front bumper, so we get along in these already. Next Thursday we start this trek.

My question in the title is, if my neighbor is satisfied that making 30-06 (his caliber) is going to work for him and he is ready to dive in right now, do I offer to sell him my newer and lightly used red Lee Classic Cast Press or my Mentor's first generation green Rockchucker?

I also consider that my neighbor may wish to purchase his own - brand new. In that I can show him a multitude of on line retail supplies for his shopping pleasure...not the least of which is his wife's Cabela's Club credit card.

I am leaning toward selling the Rockchucker as my bench has already accepted its red neighbor and I think my Mentor would have approved.

Interestingly, our newest neighbor moved in two months ago to a recently constructed home right across the street from both of us. I met the new neighbor and his wife yesterday. He is helicopter pilot and remarkably a former FFL from Louisiana with a decade+ of retail firearm and equipment sales experience!