PDA

View Full Version : Beware the tall grass

Texas by God
05-29-2019, 01:20 PM
Please be wary walking around in snake prone areas. I just lost a 500# bull calf to a Timber rattlesnake. I've been raising cattle for 55 years and this is a first. He was bitten in the left eye and the swelling in his neck shut off his airways. I've had them bit in the leg before and they survived but this bull was in the wrong place at the right time apparently. Gruesome and a waste of prime beef. Be careful, folks!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

Sig556r
05-29-2019, 01:22 PM
sorry for you loss, them snakes thrive this time of year, especially in TX

Thundarstick
05-29-2019, 01:28 PM
And the chiggers! They just make you wish you where going to die, but you don't!

I hate your loss, 2 years work pof gone. :-(

Buzz Krumhunger
05-29-2019, 02:01 PM
I mowed the grass and weeds around my shop and barn with the tractor just yesterday because it was getting too “snakey” looking. About a week ago I had a dream about a big rattler trying to strike at me and I guess it gave me the willies.

dangitgriff
05-29-2019, 02:14 PM
Are you rounding the rattlers up now?

popper
05-29-2019, 02:26 PM
Few years back son and I were fishing a small pond with high grass, he hollered 'you just stepped over a copperhead'. With all the water we see more of them. You butcher it?

Texas by God
05-29-2019, 02:55 PM