PDA

View Full Version : Size of melt pot?

Fixxah
10-21-2008, 08:15 PM
I have been hoarding as much lead and WW as possible. Currently there are around70 clean ingots ready for the casting ops. but I recently aquired a turkey fryer and a couple of cast iron pots from my boss along with a ladel with a 3' handle that holds approx. 25 lbs. of lead.

Please note that I am a plumber by trade and my boss has also donated a lot of lead from demo jobs. I want to melt all my stock in one session and was curious as t what size pot would be best to melt it all? Is 50 lbs per pot expecting too much and will it work?

John

randyrat
10-21-2008, 09:51 PM
I matched my pot with how many molds i have. About 30-40 lbs at a time and can keep it going all day if i want to. I use a 8 qt cast kettle with a cover and it does me well. If you go too big it's harder to keep an eye open for zink floaters and keep up with molds. I would go bigger if i did it more often, but then you would need a heftier stand for the turkey fryer and more molds. Go slow don't spill and get sloppy...I use slips of card board from the local feed mill under my operation and throw them out when i'm finished. Make sure your molds match your final use. ie... Small enough to fit whichever melting pot you have.

GabbyM
10-21-2008, 11:07 PM
A 5 quart dutch oven will hold 80 lbs of lead.
I can melt about 100 pounds of WW an hour in mine. Maybe more. I don't fill it full. Just about 2/3 is enjough to fill my ingot molds three times with some left in the bottom for seed.

I like to add scrap lead to my pot using a square nose shovel. My shoe laces last longer when I keep my feet back.

Fixxah
10-22-2008, 10:51 PM
Anybody have a good supplier of cast iron kettles and a scoop for clip trash? I have a few hundred pounds of WW and a hundred pounds of old joint lead with some oakum in it. My goal is to have half a ton before I begin melt after deer season.

OeldeWolf
10-22-2008, 11:18 PM