PDA

View Full Version : Use small words please!

Burnt Fingers
03-26-2019, 06:01 PM
I'm having problems with Hi-Tek being scraped off of my boolits while seating them. I've tried a custom Dillon powder funnel and a Lyman M die. I'd like to try a NOE expander plug but I'm totally lost when it comes to figuring out which one.

I'm sizing my 9mm boolits to .357 but might have to go to .358.

I've been fighting this leading problem for several months and finally figured it out. The coating is being scraped off during seating. Now I need to attempt to fix that.

Thanks.

Baltimoreed
03-26-2019, 06:12 PM
Bell the case more [move your expander to go into the case a little deeper], you could also try and chamfer the inside of the case mouth to help the bullet slide in without the sharp edge scraping your coating off. But you’re going the wrong way if you size the boolits bigger.

onelight
03-26-2019, 06:13 PM
I have found that if cases are not properly chamfered they require more flare also your case expander should be about 1 thousandth less than bullet size.
There are people here that know a lot more than I do perhaps they will chime in.

Wheelguns 1961
03-26-2019, 06:25 PM
The last time I looked at exp plugs, the largest 9mm plug that NOE sold was .360- .356. I have used this with excellent results in 9mm with both .357 and .358 bullets. Have you tried the smash test on your bullets? I have never used hi-tek, just powdercoat, but you may also have a problem there.

megasupermagnum
03-26-2019, 07:06 PM
Some guys claim you can just expand more, yet it will not work with any caliber I have loaded. Chamfer the case mouth. It doesn't have to be deep, you just have to break the sharp edge.

onelight
03-26-2019, 07:22 PM